EPIC Associates

EPIC Associates are faculty who are experts in the power and energy field and have committed to seek to maximize interaction among other faculty, students, staff and industry in the power and energy area. An EPIC Associate attends and takes leadership roles in EPIC activities; contributes to EPIC interdisciplinary collaborative efforts to secure external funding; joins EPIC applied research “Clusters”; serves on EPIC graduate student and center committees; collaborates on scholarly articles originating from EPIC-affiliated research; and provides advice and input to EPIC initiatives and future directions.

Name Title E-mail Research Areas
Mona Azarbayjani Professor
mazarbay@uncc.edu
Energy-related impacts of architectural design
Yamilka Baez-Rivera Duke Energy Smart Grid Lab Manager
ybaezriv@uncc.edu
Ronak Bhatt Adjunct Associate Professor
Ronak.Bhatt@uncc.edu
Energy economics and markets.  Renewable and distributed generation systems
Andy Bobyarchick Professor
AndyBobyarchick@uncc.edu
Earth science issues related to power infrastructure and environmental development
Glenn Boreman Professor and Chair, Department of Physics and Optical Science
gboreman@uncc.edu
Infrared antennas and transmission lines, infrared frequency-selective surfaces, nano-scale E-field mapping, BRDF & surface-scatter measurements
Nan BouSaba Faculty Associate
nbousaba@uncc.edu
Renewable Energy senior design projects
Nicole Braxtan Assistant Professor
nbraxtan@uncc.edu
Structural components and systems in fire; fire protection for buildings and bridges; energy infrastructure and systems; seismic performance and design; sustainable construction and green buildings, and engineering education
Aidan Browne Faculty Associate
AidanBrowne@uncc.edu
Energy-related engineering technology and construction management
Nan Byars Professor
nabyars@uncc.edu
Energy Conservation for Building Envelope Systems (roofing, walls, windows, foundation
Umit Cali Assistant Professor
ucali@uncc.edu
Renewable Energy Technologies, Grid and market integration of Renewable Energy Sources; Energy economic/politic analysis; Big Data/Smart Grids, and Project Management Electrical Engineering
David Causey EPIC Assistant Director, Outreach
fcausey@uncc.edu

Large Energy Component Design & Manufacturing, Renewables & Energy Efficiency

Tara Cavalline Assistant Professor

Portland cement concrete and cementitious materials; Sustainable construction materials; Masonry materials; Bridge Management Systems, and Pavement Management Systems

Valentina Cecchi Assistant Professor-ECE, UNC Charlotte
vcecchi@uncc.edu
Transmission and Distribution Planning, Power Systems Modeling, Design and Analysis
Shen-En Chen Professor
schen12@uncc.edu

Power Infrastructure & Environmental Development, Renewables & Energy Efficiency

Harish Cherukuri Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Science
Harish.Cherukuri@uncc.edu
Mechanical engineering design requirements of renewable energy systems and large component design/manufacture
Badrul Chowdhury Professor, UNC Charlotte
bchowdhu@uncc.edu
Power system modeling, analysis and control; integration of renewable and distributed energy resources including wind electric conversion systems, solar PV, fuel cells, and energy storage in electricity markets and microgrids
 
James Conrad Professor
jmconrad@uncc.edu
EV Communications and Robotics, Power Systems Monitoring
Rob Cox Associate Professor
rcox3@uncc.edu
Industrial Electronics, Control and Monitoring
Bojan Cukic Computer Science Professor, Chair
bcukic@uncc.edu
Energy Analytics & Markets, Sustainably Integrated Buildings and Sites (SIBS)
John Daniels Professor and Chair, Civil and Environmental Engineering
jodaniel@uncc.edu
Use of Energy Waste Materials
John Diemer Professor
jadiemer@uncc.edu
Energy related issues related to power infrastructure and environmental development
Aba Ebong Professor, UNC Charlotte
aebong1@uncc.edu
High Efficiency Silicon Solar Cells
Ahmed El-Ghannam Associate Professor
arelgha@uncc.edu
Bioengineering Bone Cell Preservation, Orthopedic Bioengineering
 
Gloria Elliott Director, BioStability Lab
gdelliot@uncc.edu
Development of novel working fluids for power generation, thermal energy storage, and heat-driven refrigeration cycles
Missy Cary Eppes Associate Professor
meppes@uncc.edu
Somasundaram Essakiappan EPIC Teaching Professor and Duke Energy Suite Power Labs Manager
somasundaram@uncc.edu

New power electronic topologies and distributed controls for sustainable power and DER high-penetration scenarios, switching power supplies, energy storage, and medium frequency transformers

Chris Evans Professor and Director, Center for Precision Metrology
cevans52@uncc.edu
Advanced Metrology and Precision Manufacturing Diamond Turned Optics Surface Form Metrology Self-Calibration Techniques
Janos Gergely Associate Professor
jgergely@uncc.edu
Power Infrastructure & Environmental Development
Friedrich Goch Teaching Professor
fgoch@uncc.edu
Production metrology and energy techniques
Navid Goudarzi Assistant Professor
navid.goudarzi@uncc.edu

Renewable energy projects with a focus on novel onshore/offshore and small/large scale wind turbine designs, system cost modeling, system life-cycle and risk economics, computational/experimental fluid dynamics, and contract engineering with focus on performance-based logistics/outcome-based contracts

Tao Han Assistant Professor
Than3@uncc.edu
Christopher Hardin Managing Director and Industry Liaison, CALM
chardi19@uncc.edu

Energy & Environmental, Energy Analytics & Markets

Qiaochu "Tony" He Assistant Professor

Descriptive and prescriptive mathematical models for engineering and business systems

Daniel Hoch Faculty Associate
dhoch2@uncc.edu
Renewables & Energy Efficiency
Tao Hong Assistant Professor Graduate Director
tao.hong@uncc.edu

Forecasting and optimization; development of algorithms and tools for utility applications of analytics; power system planning; renewable integration; reliability planning, and risk management

Terry Jordan Director of the Industrial Solutions Laboratory
tdjordan@uncc.edu

Engineering student development and success

Sukumar Kamalasadan Associate Professor
skamalas@uncc.edu
Martin R. Kane Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
martin.kane@uncc.edu
Energy & Environment, Power Systems Modernization
Olya Keen Assistant Professor
okeen@uncc.edu
Milind Khire Professor, Geoenvironmental & Geotechnical Engineering, Associate Director of Energy & Environment Cluster, Technical Director of CALM
mkhire@uncc.edu
William Langley Research Associate Professor
wlangley@uncc.edu
Churlzu Lim Associate Professor
clim2@uncc.edu
Energy Analytics & Markets
Madhav Manjrekar Associate Professor
Madhav.Manjrekar@uncc.edu

Technology and innovation in green energy and power systems

Stu Mathis Stuart.matthis@stvinc.com
Ed Morse Professor/Associate Chair, Graduate Programs
Edward.Morse@uncc.edu
Mechanical engineering applications in large component design and manufacturing
Mariya Munir Assistant Professor
mmunir@uncc.edu
Microbial water quality and public health issues, Antibiotic resistance in water and soil environment; Detection, removal and inactivation of emerging biological and chemical contaminants in water and wastewater systems, drinking water treatment technologies, and Sustainability and green energy technologies
Asis Nasipuri Professor & Chair, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
anasipur@uncc.edu
Wireless Sensor Networks, Wireless Mesh and Mobile Ad Hoc Networks, Wireless Communications
Maciej Noras Associate Professor
mnoras@uncc.edu
Power Electronics, High Voltage Engineering, Electromagnetic Fields Sensing and Materials for Electrotechnology, Smart Materials and Energy Harvesting
Mike Ogle Assistant Professor
mike.ogle@uncc.edu
Renewables & Energy Efficiency, Sustainably Integrated Buildings and Sites (SIBS)
Tobi Ogunro Associate Professor
vogunro@uncc.edu
Power Infrastructure & Environmental Development, Energy and Environmental
Shubhashini Oza Research Associate
shubhas@uncc.edu
Renewables & Energy Efficiency
Ertunga Ozelkan Professor
ertunga.ozelkan@uncc.edu
Energy Analytics & Markets, Sustainably Integrated Buildings and Sites (SIBS)
Miguel Pando Associate Professor
mpando@uncc.edu
Foundation Systems, Static and Dynamic Soil Structure Interaction, Geotechnical Engineering
Youngjin Park High Bay Lab Manager, EPIC Engineer and Faculty Associate
y.park@uncc.edu

Geotechnical engineering with emphasis on laboratory and field experimentation, sensors and instrumentation for short- and long-term monitoring

Babak Parkhideh Assistant Professor
BParkhideh@uncc.edu

Energy engineering for power systems and renewable energy

Srinivas Pulugartha Professor & Graduate Program Director of the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
sspulugu@uncc.edu
Yasin Raja Professor
raja@uncc.edu
Praveen Ramaprabhu Associate Professor
pramapra@uncc.edu

Combustion/Computational Modeling

Bienvenido Rodriguez-Medina Lab Manager
brodriguez-medina@uncc.edu

Power Systems Modernization, Renewables & Energy Efficiency

Nenad Sarunac Associate Professor, UNC Charlotte
nsarunac@uncc.edu

Clean-air Generation and Generator Plant Design

Tony Schmitz Professor and Associate Chair for Graduate Programs
tschmit4@uncc.edu
Manufacturing Process Modeling and Metrology
Peter Schwarz Professor
pschwarz@uncc.edu

Energy markets and emissions pricing

Jeremy Shook Senior I&C Engineer, Burns & McDonnell
Ehab Shoubaki Post-Doctoral Fellow
eshoubak@uncc.edu

Power Systems Modernization, Renewables & Energy Efficiency

Yesim Sireli Associate Professor
ysireli@uncc.edu

The nexus of water-energy-food-climate; sustainability; renewable energy systems

Ron Smelser Senior Associate Dean
rsmelser@uncc.edu
Energy engineering talent development for large component design and manufacturing
Ed Stokes Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
ebstokes@uncc.edu

Optoelectronic Devices and Wide-bandgap Semiconductors

Patty Tolley Associate Dean, Undergraduate Experience
patolley@uncc.edu
Engineering student development and success
William Tolone Professor, Interim Dean College of Computing and Informatics
william.tolone@uncc.edu

Collaborative Systems, Enterprise Integration

Mesbah Uddin Professor and Director of NC Motorsports and Automotive Research Center
muddin@uncc.edu

Computational Modeling

Chris Vermillion Assistant Professor
cvermill@uncc.edu

Power Systems Modernization, Renewables & Energy Efficiency

David Vinson Assistant Professor
dsvinson@uncc.edu
Power Infrastructure & Environmental Development
Juan Vivero-Escoto Assistant Professor
Juan.Vivero-Escoto@uncc.edu
Michael Walter Professor
Michael.Walter@uncc.edu

Chemistry applications in renewable energy system design

Weimin Wang Assistant Professor
wwang35@uncc.edu

Interests are modeling, analysis and control of building systems

Katherine Weaver Materials Characterization Laboratory Manager
kweaver@uncc.edu

MCL Manager, Materials & Thermal Analysis Research

David Weggel Associate Profesor
dcweggel@uncc.edu
Blast Loads; Infrastructure Protection
Matthew Whelan Assistant Professor
mwhelan3@uncc.edu
Structural Health Monitoring and Experimental Testing, Structural Vibrations
Wesley Williams Assistant Professor
wbwillia@uncc.edu
Renewables & Energy Efficiency
Bartosz Wojszczyk Assistant Director
bwojszcz@uncc.edu

Grid Modernization

J Wu Professor
jwu@uncc.edu

Civil engineering applications in energy infrastructure development

David Young Interim Director
dyoung@uncc.edu

Power Infrastructure & Environmental Development, Renewables & Energy Efficiency

Haitao Zhang Assistant Professor
hzhang3@uncc.edu

Renewables & Energy Efficiency, Energy & Environmental

Yong Zhang Bissell Distinguished Professor
yong.zhang@uncc.edu
Novel Ideas and Materials for Photovoltaics and Other Optoelectronic Devices
Tiefu Zhao Assistant Professor
tzhao5@uncc.edu

Grid Edge Power Electronics, Solid State Transformer, Solid State Circuit Protection, DC Distribution, Microgrid, Renewable Energy Integration, and Wide Bandgap Device Applications

Aixi Zhou Associate Professor
aixi.zhou@uncc.edu

Fire Protection, Advanced Composite Materials, and Renewable Energy Device Design and Prototype

John Ziegert Research Cluster Lead
jziegert@uncc.edu

Large-scale Manufacturing and Metrology

Mei Sun Assistant Professor
msun8@uncc.edu